Skip to main content

Graham's Picks

Hmm, I can't get my own reviews to display here, but if you click on any of the books listed below, you can read my thoughts / enthusiastic rants on their respective pages. Thanks for reading! -Graham

Hayao Miyazaki
Current price: $70.00
Hayao Miyazaki’s own creation, the legendary Nausicaä manga is now all in one! A deluxe compilation of the classic manga series written and illustrated by Academy Award® winner Hayao Miyazaki. Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind is an epic fantasy tale written and illustrated by legendary Studio Ghib ... Read More about
Backordered
Ron Wimberly
Current price: $17.99
PRINCE OF CATS is the B side to Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet, played at an eighties block party in a NY where underground sword dueling blossomed alongside hip-hop, punk, disco, and no wave. It's a deconstruction of Romeo and Juliet's romantic meta narrative focussing on the minor players with Tyb ... Read More about
Yuriko Akase
Current price: $24.99
A critically acclaimed, full-color manga adventure through the boundless reaches of outer space! Sazan, a young man from Earth, works construction on other planets and has seen his share of galactic oddities. But when he meets Mina, a vivacious redhead who zooms into his life on a space scooter, he ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Nick Harkaway
Current price: $17.00
From the widely acclaimed author of The Gone-Away World and Tigerman, comes a virtuosic new novel set in a near-future, high-tech surveillance state, that is equal parts dark comedy, gripping detective story, and mind-bending philosophical puzzle.  "A Pynchonesque mega-novel that periodically calls ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Kerascoët, Fabien Vehlmann
Current price: $17.95
A group of little people find themselves without a home in this horror fantasy classic Newly homeless, a group of fairies find themselves trying to adapt to their new life in the forest. As they dodge dangers from both without and within, optimistic Aurora steps forward to organize and help build a ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Ezra Claytan Daniels, Ben Passmore
Current price: $24.99
An Afrofuturist horror-comedy about gentrification, hip hop, and cultural appropriation. Once a thriving working class neighborhood on Chicago’s south side, the “Bottomyards” is now the definition of urban blight. When an aspiring fashion designer named Darla and her image-obsessed friend, Cynthia, ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Lev Grossman’s new novel THE BRIGHT SWORD will be on sale July 2024 The stunning #1 New York Times bestselling conclusion to the Magicians trilogy A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR  ONE OF THE YEAR’S BEST BOOKS • The San Francisco Chronicle • Salon • The Christian Science Monitor • AV Club • ... Read More about
Available for Order
Brian Ralph
Current price: $21.95
"A storytelling tour de force by turns creepy and poignant . . . One of the best books of the year." —Jeff Jensen, Entertainment Weekly You wake up in the rubble and see a ragged, desperate one-armed man greeting you. He takes you underground to a safe space, feeds you, offers you a place to sleep, ... Read More about
John Darnielle
Current price: $17.00
Beautifully written and unexpectedly moving, John Darnielle's audacious and gripping debut novel Wolf in White Van is a marvel of storytelling and genuine literary delicacy. Welcome to Trace Italian, a game of strategy and survival! You may now make your first move. Isolated by a disfiguring injury ... Read More about
Available for Order
Kieron Gillen
Current price: $9.99
Tor.com's Best Comics of 2018 THE WICKED + THE DIVINE writer KIERON GILLEN teams up with artist supernova STEPHANIE HANS (WicDiv, Journey Into Mystery) for her first ongoing comic. DIE is a pitch-black fantasy where a group of forty-something adults have to deal with the returning, unearthly horror ... Read More about
Available for Order
Mariko Tamaki
Current price: $18.99
A New York Times bestsellerA 2015 Caldecott Honor BookA 2015 Michael L. Printz Honor BookAn Eisner Award Winner Every summer, Rose goes with her mom and dad to a lake house in Awago Beach. It's their getaway, their refuge. Rosie's friend Windy is always there, too, like the little sister she never h ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Collects the earliest, most sci-fi comics in Jaime Hernandez's Locas/Locos storyline, ripped from the pages of Love and Rockets: meet teenage mechanic Maggie, her anarchic best friend and sometimes-lover, Hopey, and their friends from the Southern Californian Hoppers 13, aka Huerta, neighborhood pun ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Susanna Clarke
Current price: $19.99
In the Hugo-award winning, epic New York Times Bestseller and basis for the BBC miniseries, two men change England's history when they bring magic back into the world. In the midst of the Napoleonic Wars in 1806, most people believe magic to have long since disappeared from England - until the recl ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Diana Wynne Jones
Current price: $11.99
This entrancing classic fantasy novel is filled with surprises at every turn. An international bestseller, this much-loved book is the source for the Academy Award nominee for Best Animated Feature. Sophie has the great misfortune of being the eldest of three daughters, destined to fail miserably sh ... Read More about
Available for Order
Kazuo Ishiguro
Current price: $17.00
NOBEL PRIZE WINNER • From the acclaimed, bestselling author of The Remains of the Day comes “a Gothic tour de force" (The New York Times) with an extraordinary twist—a moving, suspenseful, beautifully atmospheric modern classic. As children, Kathy, Ruth, and Tommy were students at Hailsham, an excl ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Evan Dahm (Illustrator)
Current price: $30.00
Rice Boy is a tiny, humble creature. The One Electronic--an enigmatic mechanical man--has tasked him with the fulfillment of an ancient prophecy. But there's no way he can accomplish this: he is just Rice Boy. But what starts out as an impossible mission between unlikely companions becomes a fantasy ... Read More about
Jeff Smith (Illustrator)
Current price: $44.95
BONE - The Complete Cartoon Epic in One Volume Winner of 41 National and International Awards including 10 Eisner Awards and 11 Harvey Awards Meet the Bone cousins, Fone Bone, Phoney Bone and Smiley Bone, three misfits who are run out of Boneville and find themselves lost in a vast uncharted deser ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Alissa M. Sallah
Current price: $19.99
"Weeaboo is a graphic novel snapshot of growing up, by turns playful and serious, and a celebration of friendship and fandom, imperfections and all." — Foreword Reviews Perfect for fans of American Born Chinese, Peepo Choo and Sacred Heart, WEEABOO is a celebration and dissection of anime fandom, sm ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
One of the New York Times Best Children's Books of 2021 A Children’s Book about finally being seen. Blancaflor, a superb graphic storytelling of a classic Latin American folktale, showcases the invisible labor of women and the contributions of Indigenous cultures. A damsel to the rescue! Raised by a ... Read More about
Available for Order
R. Kikuo Johnson
Current price: $19.99
Two Maui high school students, Loren and Shane, get mixed up in a petty crime, and their friendship is put to the test. One of the most critically lauded graphic novel debuts in the medium's history is now in hardcover for the first time!  2023 Whiting Award WINNER in Fiction First-rate prep school, ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Jo Walton
Current price: $17.99
Winner of the 2011 Nebula Award for Best NovelWinner of the 2012 Hugo Award for Best Novel Startling, unusual, and yet irresistably readable, Jo Walton's Among Others is at once the compelling story of a young woman struggling to escape a troubled childhood, a brilliant diary of first encounters wit ... Read More about
Sas Milledge
Current price: $14.99
Family matters aren’t just hocus-pocus for this young witch! Cartoonist Sas Milledge (The Lost Carnival: A Dick Grayson Graphic Novel) makes her astonishing debut in her first original graphic novel that answers the question of how we all reconcile our responsibilities with our dreams for our own fu ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
K. O'Neill
Current price: $13.99
Being a Moth Keeper is a huge responsibility and a great honor, but what happens when the new Moth Keeper decides to take a break from the moon and see the sun for the first time? From the author of the beloved Tea Dragon Society comes a must-read for fans of the rich fantasies of Hayao Miyazaki and ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Current price: $27.00
A NEW YORK TIMES TOP TEN BOOK OF THE YEAR • FINALIST FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD IN FICTION • A READ WITH JENNA BOOK CLUB PICK • NATIONAL BESTSELLER • Two top women gladiators fight for their freedom within a depraved private prison system not so far-removed from America’s own in this explosive, hot ... Read More about
Available for Order
Next Chapter is thrilled to stock A Frog In the Fall (And Later On), a comic by Linnea Sterte, published by Peow Studio.    "A tale about toads, frogs and life" A minor frog (hatched this spring) encounters two toads, who have captured the ghost of a Shungiku flower that withered and died just recen ... Read More about