Skip to main content
Pockets for Two: A Collection of Girlhood

Pockets for Two: A Collection of Girlhood

Current price: $19.99
Publication Date: January 16th, 2024
Publisher:
HarperCollins
ISBN:
9780063247765
Pages:
32
Next Chapter Booksellers
2 on hand, as of Apr 21 10:37pm
(kids - all)
On Our Shelves Now

Description

A triumphant celebration of girlhood, friendship, and the best part of any outfit—POCKETS—in this sweet picture book perfect for fans of Mary Wears What She Wants and Princesses Wear Pants

A sweet friendship begins between two young girls on the first day of school. Throughout the year, they fill their pockets with everything from cookies to wiggly worms, to wonders, memories, and more as their friendship blooms.

With gorgeous illustrations by Brizida Magro and lyrical text by Lindsay Ward, this empowering friendship story is a must-have for everyone who picks that dress just because it has pockets!

About the Author

Lindsay Ward is the author and illustrator of over two dozen books for kids. Her most recent titles include Jessie: Queen of the Road (Two Lions, 2023), The Capitol (HarperCollins, 2022), and Pink Is Not a Color (Two Lions, 2022). She lives in Ohio with her husband, three boys, one dog, and flock of ducks. Visit her online at lindsaymward.com. 

Brizida Magro is an illustrator originally from Portugal who now resides in Boulder, Colorado, with her two cats and partner. She graduated with a BFA in Illustration from Brigham Young University and an MFA in Graphic Design from Utah State University and has illustrated several books, including Let Me Call You Sweetheart and Saturday at The Food Pantry. She is passionate about rock climbing, wandering the world, and bringing stories to life. To learn more visit her at sweetbeyond.com.

Praise for Pockets for Two: A Collection of Girlhood

This thought-provoking friendship story is in praise of pockets—specifically, pockets for girls. The illustrations make you want to linger over the girls' found objects. The ending is perfect. Fashion-and-feminist-forward. — Booklist

Digitally finished multimedia spreads offer appealing characters and handsome patterns of warm color to detail the many uses of pockets—including “discovering together. Each and every day.” — Publishers Weekly

This story might ignite a passion for pockets in kids who enjoy collecting things they find in their environments; it could also spark terrific conversations if used in a classroom before a hike or field trip.  — School Library Journal