Carol Dunbar with Peter Geye

 

 

 






About the Book:

From debut author Carol Dunbar comes the stunning new novel, THE NET BENEATH US (Forge Books; On Sale September 13, 2022), which brings to life the harrowing story of one woman who is pushed to the limits to take care of her family. A timely story of love, loss, and persevering in the natural world during the greatest challenges.

 

In the aftermath of her husband’s logging accident, Elsa has more questions than answers about how to carry on while caring for their two small children in the unfinished house he was building for them in the woods of rural Wisconsin. To cope with the challenges of winter and the near-daily miscommunications from her in-laws, she forges her own relationship with the land, learning from and taking comfort in the trees her husband had so loved. If she wants to stay in their home, she must discover her own capabilities, and accept help from the people and places she least expects. Drawing from her own lived experience, Dunbar vividly describes the wonder and harshness of life off the grid. Perfect for fans of Kristen Hannah and Elizabeth Strout, THE NET BENEATH US is sure to have readers breathless.

 

“Dunbar delivers both a tumble through the shifting light of grief, and a forgiving forest floor on which to land.”— Leif Enger, New York Times bestselling author of Peace Like a River and Virgil Wander

 

“There are novels that we enjoy, but the most memorable ones, and The Net Beneath Us is one of these, leave readers with a sense that our lives have been enriched. An astonishing debut.” — Ron Rash, New York Times bestselling author of Serena and Above the Waterfall

 

“Containing wisdom as deeply rooted as a Wisconsin forest, The Net Beneath Us is an evocative and beautifully written meditation on grief and the lasting power of friendship. A story that reminds us that in difficult times, showing vulnerability can be the ultimate act of strength.” — Lucy Tan, author of What We Were Promised

 

“Drawing from her own experience living off the grid in northern Wisconsin, Dunbar's debut novel encapsulates what it means to come home to oneself.” — Booklist

 

Order Your Copy From Next Chapter Booksellers

ISBN: 9781250826855

 

 

About The Author:

 

 

 

CAROL DUNBAR is a former actor, playwright, and coloratura soprano who left her life in the city to move off the grid. Her writing has appeared in The New York Times, The South Carolina Review, Midwestern Gothic, and on Wisconsin Public Radio. She writes from a solar-powered office on the second floor of a water tower in northern Wisconsin, where she lives in a house in the woods with her husband, two kids, and a giant Alaskan malamute. The Net Beneath Us is her first novel.

 

 

Peter Geye is author of the award-winning novels Safe from the Sea, The Lighthouse Road, Wintering (winner of the Minnesota Book Award), and Northernmost. He teaches the yearlong Novel Writing Project at the Loft Literary Center. Born and raised in Minneapolis, he continues to live there with his family.

 




 

 

 




 

For more information about events at Next Chapter Booksellers, please contact

Hank Hietala--events@nextchapterbooksellers.com

 

A complete schedule of our upcoming events is always available at www.nextchapterbooksellers.com.

 

# # #

 

Event date: 
Monday, December 12, 2022 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
38 Snelling Ave S
St Paul, MN 55105
The Net Beneath Us: A Novel By Carol Dunbar Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250826855
Availability: On Our Shelves
Published: Forge Books - September 13th, 2022