Brad Zellar Reading

 

Till the Wheels Fall Off

A Novel by Brad Zellar

 

Order your copy today!

 

**All attendees are required to be masked and vaccinated. If you are unable to be vaccinated you must show proof of a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours prior to the event. Thank you for keeping our reader community healthy and safe! 

For news from the store, including updates on our events, join our newsletter mailing list.

 

Roller rinks, record players, coin-operated condom machines, small-town mobsters, and always a wicked soundtrack—Till the Wheels Fall Off is a warmly introspective novel about growing up different and falling in love with art before the internet changed everything.

 

It’s the late 1980s when insomniac teen Matthew bonds over music with his mom’s new husband, gruff roller rink owner Russ, setting off a series of events and resonances that will haunt him long into adulthood. Spanning the years in between truck driving, hyperactive and compulsive mental health disorders, DIY zine distribution, and living on the road, Matthew eventually returns to his hometown and seeks to reconnect with the man who shaped the course of his life. An expansive and masterfully crafted story for readers of Jennifer Egan and Ben Lerner, this long-awaited novel from Brad Zellar (House of Coates with Alec Soth, 2014) forms an ambitious coming-of-age tale and portrait of rural Midwestern life, keenly examining neurodiversity, masculinity, family, and the intoxicating power of nostalgia.

 

Listen to Russ’s “Screaming Wheels Gold Standard Mix” HERE.

 

Order Your Copy of Till the Wheels Fall Off

ISBN: 9781566896399

 

 

About The Author:

 

Brad Zellar has worked as a writer and editor for daily and weekly newspapers, as well as for regional and national magazines. A former senior editor at City Pages, The Rake, and Utne Reader, Zellar is also the author of Suburban World: The Norling Photos, Conductors of the Moving World, House of Coates, and Driftless. He has frequently collaborated with the photographer Alec Soth, and together they produced seven editions of The LBM Dispatch, chronicling American community life in the twenty-first century. Zellar’s work has been featured in the New York Times Magazine, The Believer, Paris Review, Vice, Guernica, Aperture, and Russian Esquire. He spent fifteen years working in bookstores and was a co-owner of Rag & Bone Books in Minneapolis. He currently lives in Saint Paul.

Event date: 
Thursday, July 28, 2022 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
38 Snelling Ave S
Saint Paul, MN 55105
Pre-Order Now Badge
Till the Wheels Fall Off Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781566896399
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Coffee House Press - July 12th, 2022