Skip to main content
Staff Pick
Berlin Game: A Bernard Sampson Novel (Bernard Samson #1)

Berlin Game: A Bernard Sampson Novel (Bernard Samson #1)

Current price: $17.00
Publication Date: June 27th, 2023
Grove Press
Next Chapter Booksellers
11 on hand, as of Dec 5 10:37pm
On Our Shelves Now

Staff Reviews

Berlin Game is the first book of Len Deighton’s spy trilogy. British spy Bernard Samson is on the hunt for a KGB double agent among his own colleagues, and there’s no one he can trust. Samson is the anti-James Bond--working-class, jaded, and street-smart--and the gritty, morally compromised world that Deighton conjures is a quagmire of doubt and delusion. Berlin Game is the first of a nine-book saga of spies, and you’ll be hooked from the first page.

— David


Berlin Game begins with a plea from "Brahms Four," one of Britain's most valuable agents stationed in East Germany: He wants to cross the Iron Curtain and come to the West. Bernard Samson, the former field agent now stationed in London, is tasked with the rescue. But before he even sets out on the mission, suspicions arise that there is a traitor in the MI6, likely one of his closest colleagues.

The first in Deighton's acclaimed Game, Set, Match trilogy featuring the talented yet jaded intelligence officer Bernard Samson, Berlin Game is a riveting story of betrayal and suspicion in the Cold War.

About the Author

LEN DEIGHTON is considered one of the most important British espionage writers. He has written more than thirty books that range from historical fiction, dystopian alternative fiction, and brilliant nonfiction on the Second World War.